Web-site is in update mode
Meeting of the Foreign Ministers of the New Group of Friends of Georgia

A meeting of the New Group of Friends of Georgia held in Vilnius  on 13 September 2007 was attended by Georgian Minister of Foreign Affairs Gela Bezhuashvili, Lithuanian Minister of Foreign Affairs Petras Vaitiekūnas, Latvian Minister of Foreign Affairs Artis Pabriks , Estonian Minister of Foreign Affairs Urmas Paet, Polish Minister of Foreign Affairs Anna Fotyga, Romanian Minister of Foreign Affairs Adrian Mihai Cioroianu, Bulgarian Vice-Minister Evgenia Koldanova, Czech Minister of Foreign Affairs Karel Schwarzenberg, as well as  Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Kingdom of Sweden Carl Bildt and EU Special Representative for South Caucasus Peter Semneby.

This is the first time when the Group’s meeting was attended by the foreign ministers of all countries, which is a strong political signal.

The agenda of the meeting on the Georgian side’s initiative focused on the issues of NATO and the European Union. Discussions centred on the detailed action plans prepared by the Georgian side with respect to the abovementioned issues. The Ministers fully shared the Georgian side’s vision and pledged their full support for it.

The participants of the meeting discussed and set concrete steps for the realisation of Georgia’s priorities. The Ministers agreed to work both on individial and collective basis to insure timely and positive solution of the issues of importance to Georgia. 

The New Group of Friends of Georgia was established on the initiative of Georgia in February 2005 and incorporated Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Poland, Bulgaria and Romania. In 2006 the Group embraced the Czech Republic. The first meeting of the group was arranged on 4 February 2005 in Tbilisi.

13 September 2007

        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31

დიასპორის სტრატეგია



საქართველო საერთაშორისო რეიტინგებში



Copyright © 2005-2009 Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia. All rights reserved.
Created by ITDC