Web-site is in update mode
Information for Foreign Citizens of and Individuals without Citizenship intending to travel to the Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia, Georgia and Tskhinvali Region/South Ossetia, Georgia

Under the Law of Georgia on Occupied Territories of 23 October 2008, the following territories are considered occupied: the territories of Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia and of Tskhinvali Region. On the basis of the Agreement on Cease-Fire done on 12 August 2008, the above Law is also effective at the following territories: the village of Perevi in Sachkhere district as well as the territories of Kurta, Eredvi and Azhara municipalities and Akhalgori municipality.

Legal regime envisaged under the above Law is in force at the occupied territories till full restoration of jurisdiction of Georgia there.

Under the Law, entry to the occupied territories for the nationals of foreign countries and individuals without citizenship is permitted only: a) in Autonomous Republic of Abkhazia - from the direction of Zugdidi municipality; b) in Tskhinvali Region (the territory of former South Ossetian Autonomous Region) - from the direction of Gori municipality.

Entry to the occupied territories for foreign citizens and individuals without citizenship from any other direction is prohibited and is subject to punishment under the Criminal Code of Georgia.

In extraordinary cases, special permit can be issued for entry to the occupied territory under the regulations envisaged by the Legal Act of the Government of Georgia, provided the entry is within state interests of Georgia as well as aims at peaceful resolution of the conflict, de-occupation and humanitarian purposes.

  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19 20
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30 31      

დიასპორის სტრატეგია



საქართველო საერთაშორისო რეიტინგებში



Copyright © 2005-2009 Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Georgia. All rights reserved.
Created by ITDC